News and Announcements

Post Author Picture

T1 Host Associations

Posted by Oceanside MHA at Jul 24, 2019 9:34PM PDT

Via Vancouver Island Amateur Hockey Association (VIAHA): The option for out of draw zone players to attend a T1 MHA tryout is continuing for the 2019 – 2020 season. Players who are interested in attending should complete this form and submit it to their listed applicable T1 Host MHA as soon as possible. The deadline to submit is August 1st. It will be up to the T1 Host to decide if they will give you a little flexibility to this date – so please contact them directly if needed.

(NOTE: The T1 Host for OMHA is Nanaimo.)

The document 2019_Player_T1_Team_Tryout_Request_Form.pdf was attached to this post.

Post Author Picture

2019-2020 Competitive Coaches

Posted by Oceanside MHA at Jul 11, 2019 8:54PM PDT

Oceanside Minor Hockey is pleased to announce the following coaches for the upcoming season:

Atom Development – Dave Liffiton
Peewee Rep – Troy Newans
Bantam Rep – Joe Snyder
Midget Rep – Paul Green

Post Author Picture

BC Hockey Female Central Registry

Posted by Oceanside MHA at Jun 27, 2019 11:13AM PDT

Attention ALL Peewee, Bantam and Midget Female Players

In preparation for the 2019-2020 hockey season, BC Hockey has created a Female Central Registry for players interested in playing female hockey at the Pee Wee, Bantam and Midget divisions.

In accordance with BC Hockey’s Female Model, the Female Central Registry will be utilized to allow more females to play female hockey.

All females interested in participating in female hockey (including potential exhibition or tournament teams) are encouraged to register. There is no cost to register via the Female Central Registry. All participants are encouraged to register with their home Minor Hockey Association (MHA) first.

MHAs will continue to organize and host female teams. The Female Central Registry will allow BC Hockey’s Female Zone Leads to aid MHAs in finding players from outside their draw zone interested in participating in female hockey.

For the purpose of the registry, each MHA has been assigned to a Female Zone. Each player is to register under the zone of their home MHA. OMHA is listed under Vancouver Island Central.

The deadline to register through the Female Central Registry will be August 25, 2019.
Information and Registration is available through the BC Hockey Website. You can follow the following link below.

Please contact OMHA’s female Coordinator for any additional questions @

Post Author Picture

Competitive Coach Applications

Posted by Oceanside MHA at May 9, 2019 2:04PM PDT

Oceanside Minor Hockey is now accepting Competitive (Rep/Development) coach applications for the 2019/2020 season.

If you would like to apply, please complete and submit the Coach Application (application form plus supporting documents as stated within the application) by midnight June 1, 2019.

You can find the Coach Application on the OMHA website under the tab labelled “Forms”. Once completed, submit the application package to the OMHA 1st VP, Troy Newans. It can be delivered to the 1st VP mailbox at Oceanside Place, or alternatively, submitted as an attached document to the email address:

You can contact Troy at the above email address if you have any questions.

Post Author Picture

AGM Report

Posted by Oceanside MHA at Apr 24, 2019 6:27PM PDT

Oceanside Minor Hockey Association held is Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, April 17, 2019 at the Bayside Quality Resort.
At this meeting, we presented awards to:
Baileigh Martini – Leadership Award for Recreational Hockey
Tyler Gill – Merit Award for Recreational Hockey
Charles MacDonald – Volunteer of the Year

We also held elections for the following positions:
1st Vice President – Troy Newans (new)
Treasurer – Kristine Harvey (returning)
Risk Manager – Marusha Whitehead (new)
Coach Coordinator – Michael Smith (new)
Recreational Coordinator – Leslie Baynes (returning)
Tournament Coordinator – Denise Spencer-Dahl (returning)
Development Coordinator – Jesse Hammill (new)
Sponsorship Coordinator – Wendy Heshka (returning)
Cross Ice Coordinator – Jennifer Smith (new)
Equipment Coordinator – Amy Murphy (new)
Competitive Coordinator – James Cutler (new)

Door Prizes were awarded to:

Full Registration – Drason Martini
Half Registration – Denen Scott
Half Registration – Torin LeBlanc

Thank you for everyone who attended.